Using the Delete Tab: Designating Parents as Inactive

Follow

Using the Delete Tab: Designating Parents as Inactive

Once you have designated students as Inactive, you can also mark as Inactive parents without any active students in a two-step process.

Note: Schoology is optimized to process imports and exports (auto or manual) most quickly between the hours of 7pm to 6am Eastern Time (ET) from Monday to Sunday. Imports or exports that are run outside of this window will be slower to complete. Schoology strongly recommends performing or scheduling all imports, exports, and bulk deletions during this time frame, including manual imports as well as scheduled auto-imports, for optimal performance.

Step 1 — Export a List of Parents With No Active Students.

user_management_with_callouts.png

  1. Click Tools.
  2. Select User Management.

Screen_Shot_2018-06-05_at_10.28.12_AM.png

  1. Click the Parents/Advisors tab along the top.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Select Inactive: Export a List of Parents With No Active Students

This generates a CSV file containing all of the parent accounts whose children have been marked inactive.The CSV file downloads to your device.

Note: The following users are not included in the exported CSV:
  • Users with a Faculty role (such as, a teacher who had children associated to their instructor account).
  • Parents enrolled as admins of active Courses and Groups.
  • Parent accounts that have never been associated with a child.

Step 2 — Use the Delete Tab to Import a List of Parents with No Active Students 

Screen_Shot_2018-06-05_at_10.44.40_AM.png

  1. Click Tools.
  2. Select School Management.
  3. Click Import on the left.
  4. Select Delete along the top.

  1. Click Attach File and upload the .csv file you just downloaded.
  2. Select Users (Mark Inactive) in the Delete row.
    • Optional: Select Send Email Alert to notify these parent users that their account has been deactivated.
  3. Click Continue.
  4. Map the Schoology User ID to the corresponding column in your .csv file.
  5. Click Next to preview the deletion.
  6. Click Run to complete.

The users from the spreadsheet are now inactive in Schoology. See this article on how to view inactive users in Manage Users.


Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Powered by Zendesk