How do I end a school year on Schoology?

This article contains information about the following topics you may want to consider as you wrap up your school year:

Final Grades

Overriding Final Grades

Add a grade override column to replace the calculated overall score for students in a course. This will automatically hide the calculated score for students and let you put in a custom score using the new column.

To override the calculated overall grade:

  1. Click Courses in the top menu and select your course in the drop-down menu.
  2. Click Gradebook in the left menu of the course.
  3. Click Grade Set Up. 
  4. Check Override calculated overall grade

  5. Click Save

Read this help article for more information about Final Grade Settings

Check to make sure all grades are published

You may have set some of your materials to Unpublished throughout the school year to prevent students from accessing those items. Unpublishing an item also removes it item from students' final grade calculations. If you have unpublished an item to prevent students from accessing it, but want the received grades for that item to factor into the calculated overall grade, you must to re-publish the material(s). 

Use the Bulk Edit tool to see all of your materials at a glance, and to modify materials in bulk:

  1. Go to your course.
  2. Click Gradebook.
  3. Click the vertical three dots in the upper right corner of the gradebook.
  4. Select Bulk Edit from the drop-down menu.


  5. In your list of materials, published items are indicated by a checkmark in the second column (denoted by the green dot) 
  6. Check the boxes in this column to publish materials and add them to the final grade calculation.

In the above screenshot, Chapter 4 Quiz is Published and students' scores on this quiz will be included in their final grade. Chapter 4 Lab Report is Unpublished, and will not be factored into their final grades. 

Back to top

Export Your Gradebook

You can export a course gradebook in two formats:

  • CSV
  • CSV for import into other system

To export your course gradebook:

  1. Click Courses in the top menu.
  2. Click on the course that has the Gradebook you want to export.
  3. Click on Gradebook in the course profile menu
  4. Click the three dot icon in the upper right corner of the Gradebook
  5. Select Export.

Note: If you are an Enterprise school, your System Admin may be exporting grades from Schoology at the system level or your grades may be automatically syncing to your SIS. Contact your System Admin for questions about practices surrounding final grades at your school. 

Back to top

Courses

Archiving Courses 

Courses archive after the end date of the grading period passes.

For example, your course if your course is associated with the grading period “Spring Semester 2015,” which ends on June 25, after June 25 that course is moved to your Archived courses.

To access an archived course after the grading period has ended:

  1. Click Courses in the top menu.
  2. Select See All in the bottom-right corner of the drop-down menu.
  3. Select Archived to see a complete list of archived courses sorted by grading period
Note: Archived courses do not expire. If the grading period has passed,you can leave the course Archived and still retain access to the Course – including the materials, gradebook, and Members page.

Back to top 

Saving Course Materials

Consider the following scenarios for steps on how to save and reuse your course materials:

I’m teaching the same course at the same school again next year. How do I save and reuse my materials?

You can save your archived course to your Resources and re-use the same materials for the next school year, in a new course with new students and a new grading period.

Tip: Create Collections in your Resources before you starting saving course materials.

To create a Collection:

  1. Click Resources in the top menu and then select Personal in the list.
  2. Click the file cabinet icon in the left hand column to create a new Collection.

To save course to resources:

  1. Go to the archived course
  2. Navigate to the Materials page
  3. Click Options
  4. Select Save to Resources.

When you or your system admin create your new course for next year, you can load all of your saved materials by following these steps:

  1. Go to your new course.
  2. Click Materials in the left menu of the course.
  3. Click Add Materials.
  4. Select Import from Resources.

 

 Back to top

 

I’m leaving my current school/organization/department, and I want to share my materials with the instructor who is taking my place.

If you are not going to be teaching the same grade level, or are leaving your school or organization, you may want to share your Schoology content with your colleagues.

To Add a Connection:

  1. Add the instructor - for example, the instructor who is taking over your grade level- as a Connection:
    • Click People in the left menu of your home page.
    • Search for the educator's name.
    • Click Add Connection to the right of the educator's name.

2. Review the Creating a Collection and Saving Course to Resources instructions above to save your course materials to a resource collection.
3.Go to Resources.
4. Click the Collection where your course materials are saved.
5. Click Share.
6. Click Connections and select the name of the instructor.

Back to top

I am leaving my current school/organization/department, and I want to take my materials with me.

If you will not be teaching the same course at the same school again, you may want to take your Schoology content with you.

To do this, save your existing course materials to your resources:

  1. Navigate to the archived course.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Select Save to Resources.

If you will be using Schoology again next school year in your new school/organization/department you can:

  • Merge your existing account into your new Schoology account at your new school.
    Note: This option is only available if your current account is a Free account. Enterprise accounts cannot be merged. 
  • Alternatively, add your new account at your new school as a Connection on Schoology, and share your Resources with your new account. To do this, follow the instructions above under "To Add a Connection" - but add yourself (your new account) as the Connection, rather than a colleague.

If you will no longer be using Schoology again next school year in your new school/organization/department, you can export the materials you saved to your Resources.

  1. Save the course materials to Resources following the steps above.
  2. Click Resources in the top menu.
  3. Select Personal.
  4. Click the down arrow in the left column of your personal resources.
  5. Select Export to export a Schoology Resource Collection as a Common Cartridge file:

Note: The Common Cartridge file version that is exported (v1.2) does not support the following content:
  • SCORM
  • Media Albums
  • Matching questions with more than one blank
  • Fill-in-the-blank questions with more than one blank
  • Ordering questions

For technical specifications of this limitation, visit the IMS Global Common Cartridge website.

Back to top

Saving and Reusing your Grade Setup

In addition to saving your course materials, you can also save individual rubrics  to your Resources to re-use in another course, or to share with your Connections.

To save your an existing rubric to Resources:

  1. Click Gradebook.
  2. Click Grade SetUp.
  3. Click Rubrics in the upper-right corner.
  4. Click the gear icon to the right of a rubric.
  5. Select Save to Resources. 

Alternatively, after you create your new course for the next school year, you can copy all of your Grading Categories, Grading Scales and Rubrics from your archived course from this school year into your new course for next school year.

Once your current course is archived and you have created your new course, you can pull your archived grade set up into your new course:

  1.  Click Courses in the top menu.
  2. Select See All in the lower-right corner of your Courses drop-down menu.
  3. Click Archived.
  4. Select the course that contains the grade setup information you want to copy.
  5. Click Gradebook in the left menu of the archived course.
  6. Click Grade Setup.
  7. Cick Copy Settings in the upper-right corner of the Grade Setup screen.
  8. Select the settings to copy.
  9. Select your new course in the Select Course(s) list as the destination course.
  10. Click Copy to add the grade settings from your archived course to your new one.  

 Back to top

   

Powered by Zendesk