Help! My courses are missing!

Where did the course go?

If a course no longer appears in the Courses dropdown in the top menu of your Schoology account, there may be two possibilities regarding the course's whereabouts.

What are Archived courses?

Course sections are associated with grading periods in Schoology. Seven days prior to the end of a grading period, you can begin to see a message at the top of your Schoology account with a warning at the grading period will end. In the course profile, you can also see a message at the top of the course with details regarding the approaching end-date.

Grading_Period_Warning_Message.PNG

Grading_Period_Warning_Message_2.PNG

 

How do I find Archived courses?

To find archived and upcoming courses, navigate to your My Courses area by following these steps:

  1. Click Courses in the top menu.
  2. Select the option to See All.
  3. By default, you'll see a list of all of your current courses. To view past courses, click Archived.

How long do Courses Stay Archived?

Archived courses do not expire. The course will continue to stay in Archived, and you will continue to be able to access the course - including the materials, gradebook, and members page.

 

How do I "reactivate" a course?

If you'd like to keep the same course material and roster of students for a longer period of time, you can extend the life of the course by adding a grading period.

To add a new grading period to a course, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to the Course Profile of your previous course.
  2. Select Gradebook in the left menu of the Course Profile.
  3. Select Grade Setup directly underneath Gradebook.
  4. Click on the Edit button to the right of Grading Periods & Final Weights.
  5. Enter a name for the new grading period.
  6. Select a start-date and end-date.
  7. Click Save to complete.

If you are a system administrator you can also change the dates of the grading period the course is associated with. 

Note: Depending on the settings in place at your school or organization, this feature may not be available to you. The System Administrator at your school or organization can create and add grading periods to the course for you.

 

My course has been deleted

If you or a colleague had deleted the course, you can locate the course in the Course Recycle Bin. Depending on the settings in place at your school, you may not be able to delete courses.

To view a list of the deleted courses, follow these steps from the account that had deleted the course:

  1. Click Courses in the top menu.
  2. Select See All.
  3. If a course has been deleted, you'll see a Deleted Courses link in gray on the top right of the page.
  4. Click Deleted Courses.

The information listed in the Deleted Courses area displays the course and section name, as well as the date and time of its deletion.

Restore a course

To restore a deleted course section, follow these steps:

  1. Click on the check box to the left of the course name.
  2. To select all courses, click on the check box to the left of the Courses column title.
  3. Click Restore.
  4. If you're sure you'd like to restore the course, click Restore.

If you're not able to locate the missing course using these steps, you can submit a ticket to reach our Support Team.

Powered by Zendesk