How do I save my course?

Follow

Save your Course Materials to Resources

As a course comes to an end, you can save the materials you've created to your Resources. This enables you to copy your materials to future courses or share them with other educators.

Does this save a "live" version of my course or a copy?

Schoology Resources acts as a file storage area: When you save your course it creates a copy of the materials from your course to be used as a template for future courses. There is no sync between the version in your course and the copy in your resources. If you made a change in your course, this does not update the copy in Resources. This works the other direction, too; if you change the copy in Resources, that doesn't change the original in your Courses.

Think of your current course as a written notebook with all your lesson plans. You can take that entire notebook to the copier and make an exact duplicate of all your lesson plans as they exist at that time, and then file that duplicate away for future reference. But if you change your current lesson plans, the duplicate in your file isn't changed. 

Save a Course to Resources

If you wish to reuse all the materials you've created for the course, use the Save Course to Resources option.

To save an entire course's materials to your Resources:

  1. Navigate to the Materials page of the course you'd like to save to Resources.
  2. Click Options at the top.
  3. Select Save Course to Resources from the drop-down menu.
    Save_Course_to_Resources.png
  4. Select the Resource Collection in which you'd like to house your course content. If you haven't created a collection, you can add the course to your Home collection.
  5. Optional: Select a folder within the collection to which you'd like to save your course material. 
  6. The Save as field indicates that your course materials will be saved in a new folder within the selected destination in your Resources. Within that folder, the materials remain organized in the same structure that was used in the course.
    Save_entire_course_to_Resources_in_one_folder.png
  7. Click Submit to complete.
Important Notes:
  • Course materials are saved as "templates" to Resources. Other course-specific items, such as members, student submissions, the course profile picture, and calendar events are not saved to resources. 
  • Depending on the number of materials in the course, it may take some time to save the course to Resources. In this case, you will see a message that reads, "Your large operation is currently being executed. You can access a list of your large operations from your Transfer History area." Check out this article to learn more about Transfer History.
  • If you applied Student Completion Rules (Enterprise only) to your course, the rules are retained when the course is copied to Resources. This also means that when you copy that course content into a new course section, the original rules and sequencing are still in place. 

Save individual materials or folders to Resources:

If your course is organized into folders, you can save individual folders and their contents to Resources.

  1. Navigate to the Materials page of the course.
  2. Click gear icon to the right of the material or folder you'd like to save.
  3. Select Save to Resources from the drop-down menu.
    Save_to_Resources.png
  4. Select the Resource Collection in which you'd like to house your course content. If you haven't created a collection, you can add the course to your Home collection.
  5. Optional: Select a folder within the collection to which you'd like to save your course materials. 
  6. If you are saving a folder, you'll see a list of the materials within the folder that will be saved to your Resources.
    Save_folder_to_resources.png
  7. Click Save Copy to complete.
Important Notes:
  • Course materials are saved as "templates" to Resources. Other course-specific items, such as members, student submissions, course profile picture, and calendar events are not saved to resources. 
  • If you applied Student Completion Rules (Enterprise only) to a folder, the rules are retained when the folder is copied to Resources. This also means that when you copy that folder into a new course section, the original rules and sequencing are still in place. 

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Powered by Zendesk