Courses are associated with grading periods in Schoology. At the end of the grading period, the course will be archived. The course will no longer display in the Courses list, making room for new courses. When a course is archived, Course Admins with permission to view archived courses can view the course in the Archived area of My Courses indefinitely.
Seven days prior to the end of a grading period, you may see a message at the top of Schoology with a warning that the grading period will end. In the course profile, you may also see a message at the top of the course with details regarding the approaching end date. After the end date of the grading period, courses are not archived until a 24 to 30-hour grace period has passed.
If a course you administer has disappeared from the Courses, it may have been archived. See Help! My courses are missing! for other scenarios in which a teacher might not see courses in this area.
- No course content or enrollments will be lost during the archival process.
- Depending on the settings in place at your school or organization, archived courses may not be visible to you or your students. Click the Support link in the footer of Schoology to reach out to your Support Contact for help.
- Instructors can still enter grades in archived courses, however, depending on how your organization exports grades, they may not pass back to your SIS. The grades will pass back if the grading period is still open to accept grades in the SIS. For this reason, we recommend reaching out to your Support Contact if you need to enter grades when the grading period has passed.
- For students to view course assessment and managed assessment submissions in archived courses, the permission to view submissions must be enabled in the assessment settings.
- Archived courses are not accessible from the Schoology iOS or Android apps.
- Notifications and student completion rules are not supported in archived courses.
To view archived courses:
- Click Courses at the top of the page.
- Click My Courses on the right.
- From the My Courses area, click Archived to view past courses.
How do I reactivate an archived course?
If you'd like to reactivate an archived course and keep the same course material and roster of students for a longer period of time, extend the life of the course by adding a grading period. This process may vary based on how your organization provisions courses and enrollments. Learn more: How do I add grading periods to my course?
If you're the System Administrator for the Enterprise version of Schoology, you can change the dates of the grading period. Changing the dates of the grading period affects all courses in your school or organization that are associated with the grading period.