How do I archive a course? (Basic)

Follow
Note: This article is for Basic instructors only. As the process for provisioning courses and enrollments can vary from district to district, manually archiving courses is unavailable for Enterprise instructors. For help finding your archived courses, see this article.

This article contains the following information: 

Managing Courses without Grading Periods

Manually Archive Courses

For instructors using the Basic version of Schoology, a grading period is not required to create a course. At the end of a grading period or school year, you can manually archive course sections from the Course Listing area. This feature removes the course section from the Courses drop-down menu, but members of the section will find the course section in the Archived area of My Courses and can access the course indefinitely.

Important Notes: 
  • No course content or enrollments will be lost during the archival process.
  • Archived courses are not accessible from the Schoology iOS or Android apps.

Course sections without grading periods can be manually archived using the following process:

  1. Click Courses.
  2. Select My Courses.
  3. Click the gear to the right of the section you wish to archive.
  4. Select Archive Section from the drop-down menu.
  5. Click Submit to complete.

ArchiveBasic1.gif

Manually Restore Archived Courses

If you've manually archived a course section, it can be restored from Archived using the following process:

  1. Click Courses.
  2. Click See All.
  3. Click Archived.
  4. Click the gear to the right of the section you wish to restore.
  5. Click Restore Section. 
  6. Click Submit to complete.

RestoreBasic.gif

Managing Courses with Grading Periods

If you have configured grading periods for your courses, the course will automatically archive at the end of the grading period(s) with which the course is associated. After the end date of the grading period, courses are not archived until a 24 to 30-hour grace period has passed.

Archived courses will no longer display in the Courses list, making room for new courses.  Members of the section will find the course section in the Archived area of My Courses and can access the course indefinitely.

Extending Courses with Grading Periods

If you'd like to reactivate an archived course and keep the same course material and roster of students for a longer period of time, extend the life of the course by adding a grading period.

Note: You should only extend the duration of the course by adding a grading period if the course is continuing with the same roster of students. If you want to re-use the same course materials during a new term with a new group of students, click here to learn how to save materials to use in a new course.

To reactivate a previously archived course section (with grading period):

  1. Click Courses.
  2. Click My Courses.
  3. Click Archived.
  4. Click the course section's name on the left to enter the course.
  5. In the course, click Grade Setup.
  6. Within Grading Periods and Final Weights, click Edit.
  7. Either choose an active grading period or create a new grading period with active dates.
  8. Click Save.

GPRestoreBasic.gif


Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Powered by Zendesk